Board of Directors

The Board of Directors manages the business affairs of Melbourne Community Television Consortium Ltd, in accordance with the provisions of the Corporations Act 2001.

Six of the directors are elected by the Assembly at the Annual General Meeting of the company for two year terms, with half of those six directors retiring each year. Nominees to be elected as directors must be nominated by two Members of the company. The Assembly President is also an ex-officio director.

The Board may also co-opt up to five people to act as directors to enhance the Board's skill base in areas such as finance, law, business management, television broadcasting, not-for-profit governance or any other area the board considers appropriate.

Directors of Melbourne Community Television Consortium Ltd abide by the company's Directors Code of Conduct.

The Board is currently comprised of 7 directors:

Mike Zafiropoulos AM, JP  - Chair
Mike has a B App. Sc., a Dip Comp. Sc. and a Certificate in Television Production. He has served in senior positions in the Public Service and between 1995 and 2007 he was the General Manager of SBS in Melbourne. He has had a long association with SBS, including winning in 1980 the very first SBS award, a SAMMY for Best TV Documentary.

Mike has more than 40 year’s involvement in community affairs in a wide range of fields.            

His current activities include: Director of Fronditha Care, Member of the Multicultural Business Advisory Committee and Deputy Mayor of the City of Manningham. Former roles include: Mayor of the former City of Fitzroy; Director of the Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation and of the Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital; Judging Panel Convenor of the Melbourne Awards.

He has extensive experience in the media and has served as judge of the Antenna Awards, Melbourne Press Club's Quils and UNAA's Media News & Current Affairs Awards.

Laura Racky – Deputy Chair
Laura Racky is a solicitor admitted to the Supreme Court of Victoria. She has over 10 years of experience in the legal profession and commercial and technical expertise developed in commercial insolvency and litigation. She obtained degrees in Law and Arts, and later a Masters degree in Commercial Law, at Monash University. She is currently Director of llgold and a Director of the Victorian Amateur Football Association.

Terry Flander - Company Secretary
Terry Flander is the President of Oz Shalom TV Inc. He is also a committee member and treasurer of the Bicycle Recycle Shed; and was a Board Member of Preshil, The Margaret Lyttle Memorial School from 1996 to 2005, including acting as Treasurer in 2002-2003 and as President in 2003-2005.

Christy Karamzalis
Christy Karamzalis is the Industry Head for Financial Services at Google Melbourne. Prior to joining Google 5 years ago, she spent the majority of her career in a variety of banking and strategy roles in Hong Kong, Singapore and Melbourne. Christy has also been a Non-Executive Director at Holmesglen TAFE since July 2016. She holds a Bachelor of Economics with First Class Honours from the University of Melbourne.

Dr Marc C-Scott, PhD
Dr Marc C-Scott is a lecturer in screen media at Victoria University. He completed his PhD "Invention to Institution: A Comparative Historical Analysis of Television across Three National Sites” in 2016. His research interests are within television (history, institutions, policy, broadcast technologies and methods), cross-platform media and sportscasting. Marc is the host of the Media Mayhem podcast (, which discusses television, streaming, online video, and more broadly about the mayhem that is the media industry. Marc regularly appears on both local and international television and radio commentating on the changing media landscape. He also writes for The Conversation about many topics associated with changes in the media landscape.

Luke White
Luke White holds a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) and Bachelor of Arts with Monash University, an Associate Diploma with the Australian Guild of Music and is a Chartered Accountant. His professional background includes management consulting, and finance and procurement roles across both public and private sectors. He has also served on sports body committees.

Gavin Henderson
Gavins interest in community broadcasting stems from numerous years involved in amateur theatre , and as a member of not-for-profit committees.  Gavin joined Bent TV after attending a fundraiser roughly 4+ years ago, and quickly became regularly involved with both studio and location shoots and joined the Bent TV board, taking on the role of Executive Producer and Production Manager, then more recently joining the Board of C31.

Richard Micallef
Richard has worked in community media since 1988, mainly in media sales and promotions but also with large scale radio sponsored and broadcast events. He has held senior positions at Capital Radio London and started Australia’s first world music show at 3PBS Melbourne. He has raised tens of thousands of dollars as a volunteer at member groups Northern Access TV and St Kilda Access TV as well as raising over eighty thousand dollars for Channel 31 at our PDG Building. Richard is a presenter-producer winning an Antenna Award for his show about song writing titled ‘Music Pot’. He is currently producing a series titled ‘Nat Chat/Migration Stories’ exploring our smaller migrant communities.

Richard had very significant responsibility at SBS Radio as Marketing Manager, at Radio for the Print Handicapped Australia as Executive Officer and as Head of Music at Central Australian Media Association. Educated in Australia with a BA from Melbourne University he has since picked up additional qualifications namely a Fundraising Skill II Certificate and a Certificate IV in Workplace Training and Assessment.

Julio Altamirano
Julio Altamirano is the President of Hispanic Community TV Antenna Hispana Inc.  He is involved with Spanish and Latin America community since he arrived to Melbourne from Chile in 1978.

President of Spanish and Latinoamerica Media Group at Radio 3 ZZZ, also a committee member and treasurer of the Chile Magazine..

Julio Altamirano is a member of the C31 Board of Directors since 2007-2012 and 2015 until now.

Taylor Lightburn
Taylor joined RMITV in 2015 and has worked on a range of student produced Community TV  productions such as The Leak, Offbeat and In Pit Lane just to name a few. Which has helped him gain employment in sports broadcasting with Tennis Australia. In 2016 he joined the RMITV board as a general board member. Shortly after his term ended he joined the C31 Board. 

Mitchell Kalika

Media junkie who doesn't know when to say no. Social entrepreneur and wordsmith.